Vino Vednesday:[yellow tail] Shiraz

 by betsy [Team Vino Vriter]

 ********************************************************************************************************

Name: [yellow tail] shiraz

Producer: [yellow tail] Winery in Yenda, New South Wales, Australia

Price: $6.99-$9.99 depending on retailer

Website: www.yellowtailwine.com

Review:

The first time I drank yellow tail shiraz was years ago, and it’s remained a “go-to” red wine choice ever since! I have tried several varieties from this award-winning Australian brand, and I have never been disappointed…but this dark, almost mysteriously delicious red tops my list. It is very affordable and I have even purchased it for less than $6 when my local wine retailer has had special sale events.

I chose shiraz for my first official “Vino Vednesday” review not only because I am partial to it, but on the dinner menu for the evening was an excellent choice for pairing: spinach and cheese manicotti with marinara sauce. I’ve found that red wines and tomato-based sauces are a match made in heaven…a combination that I find hard to describe! It is almost as if the savory flavor of the sauce dances with the wine’s sweet berry and spicy licorice notes. Marinara is great on its own, and shiraz is wonderful by itself in a glass…but together, they are truly a dance. A dance! Not a gentle waltz from a piano and violins, on a sunny balcony in spring. This is a spirited tarantella…a group of vivacious, energetic people dressed in rich colors, celebrating with family and friends on an autumn evening. Loud music, twirling and stomping feet, clapping and shouting while lifting their glasses to the best of times.

I must come out of my daydream, however, and finish describing this Iowa girl’s experience with the shiraz. I opened the bottle while dinner was being prepared, and poured myself a third of a glass. Holding the glass by the bowl, I swirled it around several times, allowing the wine to “aerate” a bit. (Skeptics: this truly does open up the wine’s flavors. And yes, it does make me feel classy.) I sipped on it while cooking–which is something every wine and food lover simply must do on a regular basis–and enjoyed the aromas of the food and wine blending together in the air. Moments like these are therapeutic. Add some old jazz standards to the mix and you have a perfect way to unwind after work. It was a great choice for the Italian meal, as predicted, and soon the entire bottle had disappeared (don’t worry, I had company) J

All in all: yellow tail shiraz is a classic wine pick for an autumn or winter evening. In front of the fireplace, or shared with friends and a meal…you will not be disappointed!

Cheers!

Vino Vednesday is vritten by our Team Wine-o Betsy. Her column appears ever Vednesday right here on Eat.Drink.Repeat.

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on October 13, 2010, in Betsy, Drink. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great review Betsy! 🙂 This is my go-to red for all occasions, but I haven’t had it in a while. your scrumptious evening has inspired me to go out and get a bottle to enjoy! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

