Tuesday Tartlet | Carmel Apples!

 By Eva [Team Dessert Hooker] 

Halloween is right around the corner, and in honor of the sugar crazed holiday I made one of my favorite fall treats– Caramel Apples!

I have been having the most amazing autumn. This year, the fall weather has been temperate and pleasant, and the leaves have been turning slowly, so I’ve had a lot of time to enjoy the blazing colors of the changing season. I haven’t been apple picking this year, but that is most definitely one of my favorite activities. This time of year always makes me crave caramel apples.

It seems only fitting, with Halloween on Sunday, to negate all of the nutritional benefits of apples by smothering them in caramel and various candies. What a perfect way to celebrate, and they couldn’t be simpler to make! (Actually upon review, this gets a little messy: maybe not so simple but definitely fun!)  

 

I use apples in a variety of delicious colors and quarter them. That makes the recipe much friendlier to munch, and you can mix and match flavors and toppings as you like. Martha Stewart has a delicious recipe for dipping caramel here: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/classic-caramel-apples, but if you’re not feeling quite so ambitious you can go for the store bought variety and melt them down in a couple minutes. I went with that option, so that I could whip up my apples in between work and homework. The whole endeavor took probably about half an hour (minus cleanup time… caramel is a sticky monster). 

Carmel Apple Tips

 

  • Melt caramels in a double boiler so that they don’t burn, and if you don’t have one, improvise. I stacked two pots on the stove. This actually proved to be a little unstable, so definitely be careful if this is the route you choose!
  • Create stations. The more systematic your approach is, the less messy. I moved from left to right, and had my tray handy right next to the pot with the caramel so that I could avoid drips. This recipe gets pretty handsy, so if you want to set up a dip-your-own scenario, kind of a caramel apple fondue, I recommend leaving the caramel in the pot, but letting it cool a bit. Thicker caramel still works for dipping slices, and will be less drippy. Also, don’t delay cleanup. It’s easier to scrape off the caramel while it is soft and warm. If it starts to harden, really hot water will melt it back down, but don’t don’t don’t just dump it down the drain! It’ll harden back up and clog your pipes.

 And I can’t forget the fun part: CANDY! I asked some of the EDR staffers what their favorites were and bedazzled my apples with Skittles for Andy, cut up some Reese’s in honor of Nick and Snickers for Betsy. And the best part, they weren’t around, so I didn’t have to share! You can try the classic, plain caramel apples, or salt them for a French vibe. Good old standbys nuts and m&ms work really well too.

Caramel apples are the perfect way to celebrate Halloween and satisfy your inner child. If you’ve never tried making them at home before, I hope you do! And be sure to share any tips or recipe adaptations with me! I’m always excited to try new candy toppings!

Until next Tuesday, have a sweet week!

 

Eva is a Polish, a ginger, and also our Team Dessert Hooker and  author of the “Tuesday Tarlet” right here at Eat.Drink.Repeat.

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on October 26, 2010, in Eat, Eva. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OOOOH!!!! Delicious. I would like my snickers caramel apple this weekend please 🙂 LET’S MAKE SOME!!!

Leave a Reply

