Vino Vednesday | Clos du Bois Pinot Grigio | Twin Cities Grill

   by betsy [Team Vino Vriter]

Clos du Bois Pinot Grigio
Clos du Bois Winery, Sonoma, California
$6-8 per glass at fine restaurants
www.closdubois.com 

My sister turned 33 on Saturday, October 23rd.  All she wanted to do on her birthday was spend the day with our family…and what better place to celebrate a birthday than the Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota?   My heart beats with excitement just thinking about the place.  All of us had plans of our own as we headed north. 

My plans included: searching for a perfect performance dress, having quality conversation with my sister, and eating and drinking fabulous food and wine.  If I were to stumble upon a great pair of shoes (or eight or ten pairs) that simply begged to come home with me, that’d be okay too. 

              

As much as I would love to tell you that the shoe is mine… I cannot.  I didn’t find the perfect dress for my singing engagements, either.  I did, however, come home with a few “treats” that are now hanging in my closet.  And even better, my sister and mom and I had fun together.  And we ended my sister’s 33rd with a fabulous time at a great restaurant—one of my parents’ favorites—Twin City Grill.

This restaurant is located in the heart of the Mall of America, but once you enter, you’d never know you were in a busy space packed with shoppers.  It’s intimate and elegant, lit with candles and staffed with waiters in tuxedos.

I have to admit that food was second on my list of concerns.  I was hungry after the constant activity and walking, but the wine list was much more appetizing than the dinner menu.  “Cheap Wine Week” happened last week, and I had every intention of celebrating my sister’s birthday well.  She’s 5 months pregnant, so no vino for sissy (so sad).  Also…when parents are buying, children will indulge.  I wanted something cold, so that ruled out the reds.  Dry, but not heavy like Chardonnay.  Not as sweet as Riesling, maybe a little more on the tart side.  My choice was Pinot Grigio.  Oh, how I love this wine.  I am rarely disappointed.  Perhaps it’s my favorite?  Who knows…God willing, I have my entire life ahead of me to experience wine.  (I can’t lie…the very thought of that makes me feel incredibly blessed.)  I told the waiter my choice, and my mother followed suit and chose the same.  We giggled like schoolgirls in excitement as we waited for our glasses to be delivered. 

  

We all took slices of the warm bread as we waited for our entrees.  The wine was a perfect complement. Mom and I analyzed the description on the wine list, and decided there was a hint of apple in the aroma, and citrus in the initial sip, on the tip of the tongue.  The finish was perfectly dry.  It was joyful.  One glass was just perfect…any more would have been indulgent and unnecessary.

Dinner time!  Mom and I both ordered flatbreads.  I tasted hers and decided mine was superior.  I had ordered the shiitake mushroom flatbread with pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, and scallions.  And I LOVED it.  I took a bite and decided it was like pizza, only better.  Light, crispy, savory, unique.  Just like the wine, which created an absolutely perfect match.  Ahhh….it was bliss.  I reduced “bites and drinks” to “nibbles and sips” to elongate the experience. 

I have every reason to believe my family was annoyed with my foodie dorkiness (and I don’t blame them) as we sat in the restaurant for much longer than we should have.  I even crept up to both of the beautiful wine displays to snap a few photos.  I should have told the maitre’ d beforehand that I was doing research for a food blog…instead, I got strange glances from most of the waitstaff.  I didn’t mind a bit, as I’d just had a fabulous food and wine experience.

Until next time, friends…Cheers, and much love!  

Vino Vednesday is vritten by our Team Wine-o Betsy. Her column appears ever Vednesday right here on Eat.Drink.Repeat.

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on October 27, 2010, in Betsy, Drink, Eat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

