Tuesday Tartlet | The Great Pumpkin

 By Eva [Team Dessert Hooker]

 

It’s that time of year again– Pumpkin time.

Now as obsessed as I am with all things dessert, one would assume that the appearance of pumpkin in all the sweet treats of the season would be right up my alley.

In fact, it stresses me out.

I never liked pumpkin. Well actually, I had never had pumpkin. Growing up in a Polish family, there are a lot of American classics that I missed out on for a long time– root beer floats, buttermilk pancakes, and even apple pie– so it’s not surprising that I also missed out on seasonal pumpkin goodies. My distaste for pumpkin may also have developed after a childhood of teasing and being called a ‘Pumpkinhead’ (I had the same problem with carrots). Or maybe I never like pumpkin because pumpkin is gross.

Come on, it smells gross, and it has a gross texture, and it is all around icky!

My tastes, if not my vocabulary, have since matured, and I have discovered that pumpkin actually has a lot to offer. Over the past couple years I have been discovering new pumpkin recipes and desserts and steadily gaining an appreciation for the succulent flavors that are so appropriate for chilly autumn.

But it can be like navigating a mine field. For example, the first time I had a pumpkin pie, I thought it was DISGUSTING. It was all… goopy. And even since, poorly made pumpkin pie has a weird texture, and if it’s served at the wrong temperature it can be all in all a very unpleasant experience. And there are so many things that claim to be pumpkin flavored, when in fact they are just bitter and loaded with cinnamon. Bleh.

I still get excited, though, to join in the festive nature of fall and try a little bit of everything pumpkin flavored. This year, I’m well on my way to discovering new favorites, even though I may have to try a lot of disgusting things along the way.….

 

Some Notable Seasonal Favorites

 Pumpkin Cheesecake

  My favorite has been the one at Olive Garden, but this has become one of my favorite desserts to try everywhere. I just may discover a better one this year.

 

Pumpkin Pancakes 

Trader Joe’s has a delicious box mix for these, and they’re the best way to start a lazy weekend morning. 

  

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin Beer 

Beer is dessert too! I especially love Southern Tier Pumking Imperial Pumpkin Ale. And on my list to try this year, these recommendations from BeerAdvocate.com: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/style/72

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things I’m Going to Try....

 

 

Pumpkin Ice Cream 

Oh, how I want to love it. I haven’t found one that I like! Last week I got a scoop from Oberweis, and it was just entirely disappointing. (Their eggnog flavor wasn’t very good either) I’m still on the hunt for a brand to change my mind.

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin Lattes

Bleh. I am on a mission to find a Pumpkin or Pumpkin Pie or Pumpkin Spice Latte that I think is tolerable. I will find one this year. Actually, Amanda was raving about Pumpkin Pie Lattes yesterday so I’ll have to ask her if maybe she knows something I don’t know.

And, don’t hate me, Pumpkin Pie – Although my love for this classic is growing, I have had way more gross pumpkin pies than I have delicious ones. I think this is one of those things that is only good when homemade, and I do have a very scrumptious recipe that I am eternally perfecting, but I am always looking for bakeries, or brands, or recipes to change my mind.

 

 

Pumpkin Bars 

This is something that I’m going to be trying for the first time this year. I have a feeling that this is going to be one of those things that will leave me lamenting my deprived childhood. How have I made it this long without my sweet pumpkin soulmate? This is the recipe I will be trying. But if anyone has another good, soul filling recipe, send it my way!

I’m also looking for good recipes for Pumpkin Bread, Pumpkin Cookies, and Pumpkin Cupcakes.
 

 

The evolution of taste is probably my favorite part of growing up. Where would I be without my newly developing love of pumpkin? I can’t imagine autumn without it.

Until next Tuesday, Have a sweet week!

 

 

Eva is a Polish, a ginger, and also our Team Dessert Hooker and  author of the “Tuesday Tarlet” right here at Eat.Drink.Repeat.

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Eat, Eva and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Eva: Like you, I’m Polish. Actually, I’m a mixed breed, but Polish is the largest segment. I’m not crazy about all things pumpkin, but I do love pumpkin pie. And, the pumkin pie recipe I love (and use) the most is the “Impossible Pumpkin Pie” recipe originally concieved by Bisquick (as far as I know). I like it because it doesn’t have a bottom crust – which is the one thing I dislike about all pies.

    Here is the recipe:
    3/4 cup sugar
    1/2 cup Bisquick
    2 tablespoons butter (or margarine)
    1 can evaporated milk (12 oz.)
    2 teaspoons vanilla
    2 eggs
    1 can (15 oz.)pumkin
    2-1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

    Beat the eggs and vanilla together until thoroughly combined. Add milk and softened butter: combine all four. Set aside.
    Combine sugar, pie spice, and Bisquick in a large mixing bowl and beat at medium speed (this breaks up the bisquick, some of which might otherwise show up in the finished product as small, white particulate ‘chunks’ – which doesn’t affect the taste, but looks a bit odd. Sifting Bisquick might accomplish the same result).
    Add pumpkin to dry ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.
    Combine liquid ingredients with the pumpkin and dry ingredients, mixing at low speed only until all ingredients are thoroughly combined.
    Pour mixture into pie pan (I always use glass pie pans for this crustless recipe – Pyrex or Corell; no grease or spray lubricant needed) and bake in pre-heated oven at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes, or until knife blade inserted into the middle comes out clean.
    This pie can be cooked and frozen ahead and still tastes good with ordinary counter-top defrosting.

    This has been a never-fail recipe for me. In recent years we’ve been using our own cooked-up halloween pumpkin instead of canned pumpkin. We just cook all the pumpkins up after Halloween and freeze it in measured 2-cup ammounts in ordinary zip-top freezer bags. It’s ready to be thawed and used any time during the year you get the urge for fresh-cooked pumpkin pie.

Leave a Reply

