TT | Cookie Party!!!

 By Eva [Team Dessert Hooker]


Usually, the start of December makes me feel quite bitter. I’m a scrooge about cold weather and it takes me a while to warm up and get into any sort of festive holiday cheer. But this year, December started perfectly. We had our first dusting of snow- just enough to remind me how beautiful winter can be, but not enough to have to trudge through or scrape off of my car in the afternoon. And I ended my fuzzy day by attending a cookie and wine party that had just enough sugar (and alcohol) to thaw the grinchiness right out of my heart.

A cookie exchange? What a simple concept. Everyone bakes something scrumptious, you gather, you eat, and you leave with an assortment of your favorites. Whoever thought of this is probably my hero.

I wanted to make gingerbread cookies, because it seemed fitting. I needed a box mix of cookies and I found this Runaway Gingerboy box mix. It didn’t hurt that the name of these inspired jokes about the maltreatment of redheaded stepchildren… etc. Also, I took the Gingerhaus label and fastened it to the outside of my bedroom door as a warning, “Ginger live here. Beware.”

My cookies turned out fabulous! The white icing was missing from my kit, so I bought cake decorating gels as a replacement for attaching the eyeballs and buttons. This worked, but the gel doesn’t harden like frosting and after my car ride a few of my slip-sliding gingerboys ended up looking like they had various ailments or had survived quite a brutal pummeling. Thankfully, they still tasted great!


Here are the cookies and treats that we had the pleasure of devouring at our gathering:

My Gingerboys. The ones that didn’t have their faces smeared off showcased their thunder thighs. Success! You can buy the mix here.

 

 

 

 


 

Snickerdoodles. Classic and delicious! Plus they have a cutesy name. You can’t really go wrong. Find a recipe here.


Cranberry White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies. I love cookies with cranberries in them, and these were especially delicious. I found a recipe here  but I also love to make Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate cookies from this recipe.


We also had these Mint Chocolate Chip festive cookie balls. To be honest, I have no idea what they were, but they were delicious! If anyone has a recipe for these send it my way and I’ll post it!


Oreo Cookie Balls. These were so good! I found a recipe here  and the ones we had were also rolled in decorative sugars and candy cane pieces.


And, while we’re on the topic of crushed up candy canes, someone brought Peppermint Candy Cane Bark. This is my new favorite thing to do with all of those candy canes that I collect throughout the season and get sick of eating about a day after Christmas. Recipe here.


Another great use for candy canes? Brownie topping. Perfection.


The most interesting recipe of the night? Cracker Candy. It was so delicious, and it has saltine crackers in it! So easy to make, I found a recipe here.


And my absolute favorite treat of the night? Toffee Almond Bark. Find a recipe here. But be sure to stock up on dental hygiene products because it does stick to your teeth!


The final ingredient to a fabulous holiday cookie party? Fabulous holiday cocktails. We had Hot Chocolate with Peppermint schnapps. It tastes like Christmas in a cup. Everyone brought their favorite wine, reds were the most popular (more festive?) but we also heated up some mulled wine, which I’d never had before. It was delicious! (Besty… are you reading this… try it!!!) We warmed up a ready to drink bottled brand, but you can get the spices and make it yourself as well. Also, check out Amanda’s suggestions for great holiday cocktails here.

What better way to get into the holiday spirit than cookies? If all the Christmas cheer usually leaves you feeling like a grouch, follow my lead and work up a sugar high for the rest of the month.

Until next Tuesday, have a sweet week!

  


 Eva is a Polish, a ginger, and also our Team Dessert Hooker and  author of the “Tuesday Tarlet” right here at Eat.Drink.Repeat. 


 

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on December 7, 2010, in Eat, Eva. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

