TTh | Happy Boozidays!

 by tyler [Team Booze Hound]


 

Most real great holidays are linked to alcohol in some way. Be it a famous drink, a famous drunk, or a famous drunken story. Alcohol and holiday read well together in most 21+ minds. But, holidays are not traditionally about the booze. They are about your family getting together smiling and laughing and screaming and crying and spilling and blah blah blah blah blah…well lets face it when family comes into play on such a grand scale as the holidays, booze, at times, becomes a necessity.

The standard seat for Christmas is eggnog. Truly I believe eggnog was created as a flavor drink.  And just like a good 70’s prom one day someone got fed up with the wall flowers lacking their confidence and the ladies dancing only with the studs….what came from it was “the spike!” I don’t mean the rail road system, I mean whiskey in the soft drink…vodka in the punch.

There are no solid books detailing the history of booze vs. the holidays. However, if I were to write one I would start with a gigantic, out of control, American holiday like Christmas.

I have been going to my grandmothers for Christmas since I can remember. As a young boy I never noticed any consumption going on with my family. Fortunately, I am no longer that young boy and I now realize just what was going on amongst all the aunts and uncles.

They were drinking. They were all drinking. Eggnog is just the tip of the iceberg. What about the ass loads of wine being poured out. As a kid you never really notice all that wine. It’s a lot! As an adult you realize that ALLLL this wine, beer, whisky, and eggnog is a relief for all the stresses on the holiday season.

I love my family, friends and all those that have made my life worth living. They are no the issue, but when all those people have kids it tends to make the house smaller, louder and more stinky. The only realease is a tall glass of your favorite mind bending substance, on the rocks. I for one will drink…just as my father did, and his father did, and his father did before him.

People wonder why alcoholism is a problem. It’s not that people want to drink or need to drink, it’s because they have to drink…


 Happy Thirsty Thursday! And remember: if it’s on fire, don’t be the idiot, blow it out first! -T-Buss – Team EDR Booze Hound 


About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Drink, Tyler. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

