VV | Zen of Zin

  By Betsy [Team Vino Vriter]


Zen of Zin old vine Zinfandel
Ravenswood Winery, Sonoma, CA
$11.99-14.99
www.ravenswoodwinery.com

A letter to Winter:

Dear Winter,

We’ve had some good times together over the years.  You created in me
a passion for skiing and figure skating.  I love coats, scarves, and
hats you cause our department stores to produce in abundance.  You
make hot chocolate taste like heaven and 3 hardened balls of snow
stacked on top of each other, adorable.  However, my dear friend…



I’m getting tired of you.  You’re still here, recklessly dumping huge
amounts of frozen water particles on our driveways and sidewalks.  The
dry air you bring along each year is bringing along its nasty friend
(Static) who makes my hair stand on end every single minute of every
single day.  Even the cutest knitted cap can’t keep my positively
charged hair from growing into an uncontrollable globe of wildness.
You gave me the flu, and I will never be over the sheer bitterness
caused by two sick days, which were covered by a horrible excuse for a
substitute teacher.

You may be thinking that it’s the end for us as you read this letter.
You are probably overcome with grief as you imagine my life without
shovels, Kleenex, dryer sheets, sidewalk salt, Snuggies, Johnson’s
lavender lotion, and endless Chapsticks.  I don’t blame you…you’re a
big part of my life and I honestly can’t picture life in the Midwest
without you.

Alas, my cold foe…this is not the end of us.

Let me explain.  I’m drawn inside and stay inside for months.  Boredom
looms and taunts me, but I refuse to become friends with him. (You’re
bad enough on your own, jackass.  Stop laughing.)  Boredom prevails
unless something is put in his way.  Something under 20
dollars…something easily attained, just three blocks away…something
with a beautiful color so unlike white that it’s hard to stop staring
at…something delicious that warms my throat and makes a piece of
otherwise boring cheese, taste amazing.   ZIN.FAN.DEL.

Zen of Zin from Ravenswood Winery has kicked your sorry cold rear,
Winter.   All it took was a pretty label and a decent price.  The wine
steward informed me it would be an excellent pairing with red meat,
savory sauces,  and (check this out) BLUE CHEESE.  Say no more, Mr.
Wine God…I’m sold.

Sadly I didn’t have it with the best blue cheese dressing in the world
(from Papa’s American Café in Mason City if you must know), but I did
have it right next to some Mexican leftovers.  I was definitely not
disappointed.  A glass alone, as the microwave was spinning; a glass
with the meal and a little more with chocolate later on.  Perfect.

Seriously…nothing is bad with this wine around.  It’s not sweet, but
it’s “juicy.”  Not an overpowering grape flavor (which I think makes
wine taste like grape jelly)…rather, more reminiscent of kalamata
olives and…flowers.  It’s great.  It’s a little spicy, so keep your
food flavors rich and dense.  I won’t pair it with Mexican food again
as it was overwhelming at times.

I can’t wait to buy this one again.  And Winter…you’ll still be around
to see it.  xoxo.


 

Vino Vednesday is vritten by our Team Wine-o Betsy. Her column appears ever Vednesday right here on Eat.Drink.Repeat.

About Ron Mexico

I am Ron Mexico.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Betsy, Drink. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

